Baked Apples with Raisins

baked_apples_syrup

My mother would talk about when she was little and my grandmother would make baked apples how they tasted and it would almost make my mouth water. I never thought to have my mother show me how she made them so I search for the right combination. This is a great way to do it in a slow cooker. It lets me have them in the middle of the summer and not make the kitchen hot from the oven.

Ingredients:
6 baking apples, cored
1/2 cup raisins
1 cup Cinnamon Sugar (see recipe)
1 cup hot water
Directions:
Place the cored apples upright in the slow cooker. Fill the center of each apple with one-sixth of the raisins. In a small bowl, combine the water and Cinnamon Sugar, then pour the mixture over the apples.
Cover and cook on Low for 3 to 5 hours.
This will leave you house smelling like the holiday and you can almost feel the crisp cool air even if it is just the AC kicking on.
Leave a Reply

